Roy Nelson apologizes for post-fight altercation with Big John but says ‘I wouldn't take it back

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

La Paix

Fuck this place
First 100
Jan 14, 2015

Roy Nelson got back on the winning track at UFC Fight Night 95 when he scored a second-round knockout over friend and fellow heavyweight veteran Antonio "Bigfoot" Silva. But Nelson's post-fight theatrics drew just as much attention as his performance, as a visibly angry Nelson flipped off referee John McCarthy andlightly kicked McCarthy in the back over what Nelson believed to be a late stoppage.

"It was a push," Nelson said of the kick at the UFC Fight Night 95 post-fight press conference. "It was more of like, dude, come on.

"Then we had a conversation in the cage. I was like, 'Dude, he was knocked out.' And [McCarthy] was like, ‘No, he wasn't.' And I'm like, dude, I know what a knockout is. I knock people out. That's what I do for a living. I know what a knockout is. Just because the guy didn't roll his eyes into the back of his head, or shake, or whatever ... it was just one of those things."

Nelson on Big John kick: ‘I wouldn't take it back'

Robbie Hart

All Biden Voters Are Mindless Sheep
Feb 13, 2015
If bigfoot was out, stop punching him
That's kind of what I thought as he dropped at least 5 more punches on him that had intent written all over them and then he said "cmon, stop it"...... I'll have to watch it again but that's what I remember

La Paix

Fuck this place
First 100
Jan 14, 2015
If bigfoot was out, stop punching him
Kind of agree. Maybe he figured if he stopped and BF got up but was out on his feet he'd be doing some more unnecessary damage smashing on him again?

regular john

Muay Thai World Champion
May 21, 2015