Anyone live in SEATTLE or PORTLAND?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

Wintermute

Putin is gay
Apr 24, 2015
Wifey and I are considering moving from the Bay Area to one of those 2 cities. We have family in both and enjoy them both- we just visited Seattle to check out some neighborhoods this weekend. I'm a Senior Designer/Art Director and she works in corporate retail here. The move would have to follow one of us finding a job there and the other working remotely until they found something there as well.

I guess, just curious if anyone has made that move, what they thought of the experience and if they have any advice. We'll never be able to buy a house in the Bay Area and we've both been here over a decade so we're really ready for a change.

teamquestnorth

Lindland never cheated
Jan 27, 2015
Im currently in Vancouver, WA which is basically a suburb of Portland. I might be able to answer any questions u have.

The cost of living here is definitely cheaper than the bay area

teamquestnorth

Lindland never cheated
Jan 27, 2015
Also if your plan is to move and purchase a house, the sooner the better. Housing prices have been steadily increasing for the last 2 years or so

sparkuri

Pulse On The Finger Of The Community
First 100
Jan 16, 2015
I will say, you will be right at home as far as traffic is concerned.
And I will personally roll out the blue and green carpet for you :)

Wintermute

Putin is gay
Apr 24, 2015
haha! awesome. i know seattle is right behind the BA as far as housing, so we'd be moving in the next 18 months. i also think job-wise i'd have more options there then portland. what do you guys do?

sparkuri

First 100
Jan 16, 2015
I'm an electrician, pyrotechnician, ......single dad......depressed......
*gun in mouth*

Wintermute

Putin is gay
Apr 24, 2015
i like idea of portland better-cheaper housing, the coty is expanding slowly enough that the mass transit and infrastructure can keep up