At a crossroads, put my money where my mouth is?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

Passive Jay

Not Worthy
Oct 21, 2015
As some of you know I am an aspiring voice over artist.

I have never had much luck with it, mostly because I have no clue what I am doing. I have done some voice over drops here and there for people that asked me to do so, like an internet radio station out of the U.K. and a voice over for a youtube video selling joint rollers. But those were all stuff that I recorded at home with my computer, I have never done it in a studio with an actual company or anything like that. I dont have a demo tape and would not even be sure how to set one up. Basically i dont know how voice overs are done on a professional level.

By chance one day a few months ago I got a random follow on twitter from a guy who is a voice over coach in California. I didnt think much of it since I am in the Detroit area and he is on the other side of the country. A few weeks ago on a whim I sent him a message asking if he had any words of advice for someone trying to get into the field.

After a few messages back and forth he offered to talk with me on Skype about it. He said he normally charged for this kind of thing but was willing to talk to me for free since I was just starting out. Since then I have had 2 Skype conversations with him, one about an hour long and one about an hour and a half long. This gentleman is impressive. He is a coach and mentor to well over 200 people right now as well as doing voice over work, directing commercials and other ventures. He even has a Sundance film festival award for a movie he did back in the 90s.