Discussion on UG : Kirik response to being paid by UFC

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

Team Bisping

TMMAC Addict
First 100
Jan 16, 2015
Kirik:
I am baffled at the handwringing over this one.
Are there really human beings so despicably spoiled they think they are endowed with a funadmental human right to gossip in the most tawdry fashion imaginable? On my mother's life, I have no knowledge one way or the other about the subject, and because I am an adult, I don't care. You should not either if you are older than 12, or younger than 12. Or 12.
You can't discuss the personal life of prominent figures in the MMA community on the UG. It is in the terms of service, and is eminently reasonable. It has always been the case.
It has been the case since the late 90s, when there was talk on the UG about the apparent extra marital shenanigans of a prominent member of the MMA community. We happened to find ourselves he and I that weekend in the same room, and had a full and frank discussion about the matter. He was famous then, way more famous now. People's personal life is no one's business, and people that love to gossip about that kind of thing should look at themselves honestly and be ashamed, and make some corrections.
I am not saying this from some lofty position of perfection. I make mistakes all the time. I have failings of character all the time. But if you think you have a right to speculate in public about someone's personal life, and are outraged when a grown up acts in ways they remind you that you don't, then there is something fundamentally wrong with you that needs to be addressed.
We receive $0.0 from the UFC, from ZUFFA, or from the owners. I had to use all that language so there was no wiggle room. The UFC does not own the UG. Or rent it.