does anyone else spend the day pumping themselves up to lift?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

Passive Jay

Not Worthy
Oct 21, 2015
Lifting after work today. I notice on days when I lift I spend the day convincing myself that I want to lift and its going to be awesome. Anyone else have to do this?

Leigh

Engineer
Pro Fighter
Jan 26, 2015
No but I don't lift heavy enough to need motivating.

regular john

Muay Thai World Champion
May 21, 2015
I used to be like that then I started training muay thai instead of lifting. no need for that no more.

lookoutawhale

Mammal of the Sea
Jan 20, 2015
I listen to podcasts when working out, so in a bizarre way i look forward to the podcast and the working out comes with it.

Anastasios

Feb 22, 2016
Nope, but I do find myself feeling very worried and with a racing heart just before heavy lifts. In striking I need some semi-hard punches before I "wake up" and am fully aware. So I arrive unpumped and slow and get woken up :p

Passive Jay

Not Worthy
Oct 21, 2015
What have you changed?
I stopped doing twice a day workouts. I was doing an hour of cardio in the morning 6 days a week. Then about 45-60 minutes of lifting weights 3 days a week in the evening or pull ups and chin ups the other 3 days.

I was told that I should not be doing all my lifts on the same day. That plus the fact that doing that much cardio when I am trying to gain weight is counter productive.

So now I do a 3 day rotation.

day one

deadlift, over head press, bent over rows, reverse curls, tricep extensions

day two

squats, bench press, pull ups, curls.

day three

cardio

then repeat.

Anastasios

Feb 22, 2016
I can't train in the morning. I can't get activated lol. You'd have to electrocute me.