Fantasy/SciFi novels

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

La Paix

Fuck this place
First 100
Jan 14, 2015
So I'm pretty new to the genre and honestly not an avid reader but really enjoy these books. I was told to start off with The Legend of Drizzt so I did and I love it. I'm at book 9 Starless Night and its still keeping my interest which is what I struggle to find with many books. I also started The Way of Shadows trilogy by Brent Weeks which I liked and The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss which is pretty cool too.

You guys read any fantasy? If so could you recommend me some more please?

La Paix

Fuck this place
First 100
Jan 14, 2015
Edited to include Sci-fi as I'm wanting to get into some good space shit as well

MahatmaPetey

Feb 26, 2015
I'm more of a horror guy, but for sci fi I do love me some Dick, Philip K. I have a couple Heinlein books on my kindle I'm excited to try as well.

La Paix

Fuck this place
First 100
Jan 14, 2015
I'm more of a horror guy, but for sci fi I do love me some Dick, Philip K. I have a couple Heinlein books on my kindle I'm excited to try as well.
Never even tried or know of a horror novel. Tell me your top 3 or so and I'll have a look. The more I look into fiction it's crazy how many sub genres are out there. What does it take to be considered a horror? Same as a movie I assume?

Stickgrappler

Apr 17, 2015
Some SF Classics off the top of my head:

Robert Heinlein: Starship Troopers; Stranger in a Strange Land; Friday... loads more

Ray Bradbury: Fahrenheit 451

Alfred Bester: The Stars My Destination; The Demolished Man

Joe Haldeman: Forever War

Frank Herbert: Dune series

Next few are subgenre of SF called 'Cyberpunk'

William Gibson:

Neuromancer; Count Zero; Mona Lisa Overdrive ... he has more but Neuromancer put him on the map and with the other 2 me to bed makes up the Sprawl Trilogy

Rudy Rucker: Ware Tetralogy (Software, Wetware, Freeware, Realware)