Had my second Judo class tonight. Are their any Judoka's on here?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

Mishima Zaibatsu

TMMAC’s resident musician
Feb 27, 2016
So much fun. Being able to use these throws and techniques, even if they're sloppy/incomplete just has me leaving with a smile on my face.

We went over Ippon Seoinage again tonight, I'm starting to get the footwork down, that's what I'll be working on for the rest of the night.

We also went over Ouchi Gari. Nice technique. Was starting to get the hang of it towards the end.

Think I might've hurt my elbow a bit trying to catch myself during Ne Waza, but that was still alot of fun. I went up against a Brown belt and, to my surprise I not only managed to get him down with a surprise double leg but also managed to stall him in Rubber Guard(I have no Jiu Jitsu experience, just observation/watching alot of tape). Was pretty cool.

Anyone have any tips for Ouchi Gari?

Hwoarang

TMMAC Addict
Oct 22, 2015
Used to be awesome, then shitty new rules came in and now it sucks and can be counter-productive.
Does your gym play by the old rules? If so that's frikn awesome, if not you may be pissing them off with your double legs.
Funny you mention Ouchi Gari, it's a prime example, I used to love it, I get down real low and even drop to my reaping knee but I would generally finish it off (or at least chain it) by grabbing the other leg, which now leads to disqualification (and de-evolutionizing the sport).

Mishima Zaibatsu

TMMAC’s resident musician
Feb 27, 2016
Used to be awesome, then shitty new rules came in and now it sucks and can be counter-productive.
Does your gym play by the old rules? If so that's frikn awesome, if not you may be pissing them off with your double legs.