Favela Jujitsu - win a signed Jose Aldo Shirt

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to Sign Up today.

ShaolinSanto

Feb 11, 2016
So peeps, some of you might now I am a filmmaker who has been working on a documentary about MMA fighters in the favelas of Rio. Anyhow - the film is still in post (It's a self financed/crowd funded thing and is taking ages to get through post) but it focused on a jiu jitsu social project in a slum in Rio's south zone - home to Marlon Sandro, Eduardo Dantas and Hacran Dias etc.

Through my work I have got to know the fighters and the social project pretty well. Well enough to call them good friends. A young girl from the project is looking to compete at the IBJJF Worlds in California and is currently fundraising to do so. In fact there are three students we want to get to the IBJJF tourny.

The girl (Evellyn) has started a raffle with T-Shirts signed by Jose Aldo, Hacran Dias, Eduardo, Marlon, Johnny Eduardo, Andre Pedenerias, Renan Barao, Leo Santos and many other fighters.

Now as she is in Brazil I wanted to open the raffle up to people around the world so set up a GoFundMe (Yeah Yeah I know!) - everyone who donates ten dollars or more will get entered into the draw for the shirts that will happen live on facebook. The money goes to gettting her and possibly some other students to the IBJJF and covers flights and accommodation. This is a dream come true for kids from these communities.

Now I am not begging. I know GoFundMe's don't go down well. But the shirt is an official Heebok shirt (urgh!) so you won't wear it because it nasty and can therefore frame that bad boy - and lets face it thats a whose who of Mixed Martial Arts fighters in ink right there on that shirt!